095A7980 scaled 1


It’s that time again, end of season with a sprint and endurance race at Oulton Park to complete the season and crown the Champions.

There have been three winning teams so far this year, but it still remains wide open to who will win the title. Team Olympian’s Chris Dovell/Kristian Rose/Riley Phillips currently lead the way, having returned to winning ways at Donington, after previous victories at Brands Hatch, Snetterton and the Oulton race earlier this year.

Despite still seeking their first win of the year, Masters leader’s PLR are currently second in the points with Neil Plimmer/Ben Pitch, but breathing down their neck are former multiple Champions UVio/Hofmann’s, with Farquini Deott/Chris Randall having topped the podium at both Anglesey races.

Team Viking/Ursus Capital are the only winners, having won the  thrilling Silverstone encounter. Jonathan Hoad came in for Colin Kingsnorth that weekend, but this time around he shares with Kingsnorth, with Mark Holme racing in the Radical Gulf Cup.

Team Greenheath are overdue a win too, as Gary Bate/Paul Turner have shown podium pace most of the season. They are currently fifth in the points and like PLR will be looking to end the season on a high.

The EDF Motorsports 212 has had the blend of seasoned campaigner and ever improving amateur in Rob Croydon and Simon Coles. They have run at the sharp end, but not made the podium yet, could this be their opportunity?

At the beginning of the season Axiametrics/GRD Racing looked a strong line-up and possible title contenders, with regular Fun Cuppers Chris Weatherill and Neil Burroughs, joined by VW and GT racer Simon Rudd. They made the podium at Anglesey and Silverstone and have led races, but still to make that top step.

Vapeclub EDF’s Vlad Vassiliev/Matt Dorkings had hoped to be nearer the front this season. They have been top six finishers, “we have been quicker this year, but so has everyone else,” said Vlad.

Scott Jeffs/Will Abraham have been near the front this season too for MJ Tec, second at Anglesey is their best, so yet another crew looking for a win before the season end.

Fuelled Up Racing’s will be looking for maybe a top six after success for Paul/Wendy Ellis-Smith and Paul Taylor at Donington where they were seventh, while Team 3’s Andy Bennett, John Perrott and David Postins will be looking to improve on their seasons best eighth last time out.

Racelogic’s Julian Thomas and David Denyer came back at Silverstone, after a long absence. But the ex Champs were right on the pace, and have to be counted as contenders this weekend too.

Signature RV’s John Whitehouse/Steve Ruston have been mixing C1 Racing and Fun Cup this year. They have also had coaching from Fun Cup expert Marcus Clutton, who joins the driver line-up this weekend, after his second place at the British GT finale last week.

EDF 104 has Victor Kara rejoining Gary Summers at Oulton, while the GT Radial car is worth watching too, with race marshals Stewart James, Tom Pledger and Joe Smith have come through an elimination competition to earn the drives. They have Craig Ballantyne in reserve too.

Good luck and Seed Data’s Matt Hogg/Mike Devlin have been rarely used in the same sentence this season, as well as the luck, they will be seeking another top 10 following their Donington result.

The family Ratcliff, better know as Team Ratters were new to the championship this season, with ex Caterham racer Peter, joined by sons David and John, while there is no shortage of experience in the Red River Sport car. International sports car racers Johnny Mowlem and Bonamy Grimes are joined by Gareth Williams again.

Jackpot Racing have a four-driver line-up as Chris/Mika Brown share with Martin Davies and Nathan Harrison, while having led races on a couple of occasions this season, teenaged MX5 racer Ted Bradbury is in the JPR Team BSP car, with Ginetta Juniors Mikey Porter and Reza Seewooruthun.

Former Fiesta Junior racer Luke Hilton heads the JPR Young Guns team, fresh from his success at Portimao last week, where he was  second in class in the Radical World Cup on his debut.

Hilton is joined by fellow Fun Cup debutants MX5’s Jack Noller and karter Gracie Mitchell, while the final entry is JPR Team LRS, with Antonio Almeida Souza, Mini racer Harvey Riby and Ginetta man Charles Ladell.

Qualifying is from 8.30 to 9.15, with the sprint race over one hour starting at 10.20. It’s then lights out for the seasons final over three hours at 13.25.

Published by Peter Scherer for Fun Cup Endurance, October 26th 12th 2023