1DX 6604 scaled 1


Championship leaders GCI Racing once again head the entry for this weekends four hour race at Brands Hatch, as Craig Butterworth and Ian Wood aim for their maiden victory, having finished second in all three races this season.

But they will have to see off the charge from defending Champions UVio Hofmanns Lotus with Farquini Deott/Fabio Randaccio, winners at both Silverstone and Croft.

Currently third in the standings are Stobart Sport. They won at Oulton Park when Jonathan Hoad deputised for Richard Webb alongside Colin Kingsnorth. This weekend it’s the more familiar pairing of Kingsnorth/Webb again.

Team Viking have had one podium under their belt, but have been close on a number of other times. Teddy Wilson stepped in for Nick Nunn last time out, but Nunn is back this weekend  alongside regular partner and recent Historic Racing winner Mark Holme.

Kaizen Motorsport were new to the Championship this year, with Ginetta racer Ravi Ramyead settling very quickly under the guidance of one of the youngest Fun Cup veterans, the very quick Riley Phillips.

They are joint fifth at the moment and have been close to the podium. Richard Just makes up the trio again this weekend, having contested two of the three rounds so far.

Vapeclub with EDF Motorsports Vlad Vassiliev/Matt Dorkings have been one the top improvers from the start of the season. They share fifth place at present with Kaizen, but are seeking their first podium.

Following his recent win in the Enduroka 24hrs at Anglesey, Kristian Rose is back in the repaired Team Olympian Fun Cup following his hefty off at Croft. Regular partner Chris Dovell shares along with a guesting Steve Lake, as the former Champions seek to restore their momentum.

PLR’s Neil Plimmer/Ben Pitch had always been the least fortunate of the crews and still have that element on occasions, including losing a possible podium at Croft when they had a broken crankshaft.

But MJ Tec GITI’s Martin Gibson/Scott Jeffs have taken over that mantle of late, despite showing challenging pace when all is well. This weekend they have Callum Cripps named as a reserve driver too.

It’s more than likely that Ferrari racer Sam Smeeth will start the Greensall Motorsport car, with Nigel Greensall first stinting for CCS Media. If so expect the same friendly rivalry at the head of the field as we saw at Croft, before they hand to their slightly more sedate co-drivers.

Greensall is sharing with his Gentlemen Drivers Alan Honarmand and Bob Tomlinson, while Sam hands to Father Simon and brother Ted.

There’s a welcome return too for Track Focused with Mike McCollum and Neil Smith due to share with Teddy Smith, without team boss Sean Cooper.

Agua Caliente have put in some strong performances too this year with Rob Croydon and Paul Turner, so they can’t be discounted, while leading the Olympian Homes backed 97 car is the super quick Harry Mailer, with Mark Slatter and Harvey Wiseman.

EDF are fielding two cars as usual, as Simon Coles and Victor Kara share the second, while the quickening trio at Fuelled Up Racing with RAW Motorsports are due to have Jamie Price sharing with Paul and Wendy Ellis-Smith.

Finally Morgan and GT racer Will Plant is out with Campbell Cassidy and Chris Williams in the JPR Team Mintex 98 car.

Qualifying is at 10am for 45 minutes with the four-hour race due off at 1.45pm.

Published by Peter Scherer for Fun Cup Endurance, June 21st 2022