race preview - rounds four & five

It’s a weekend at the seaside for the Fun Cup Endurance crews this weekend, with the annual into the evening double-header at Anglesey.

Last year it was the UVio Hofmann’s duo of Farquini Deott and Fabulous Randaccio that dominated both races, taking a double win. They were third in the opening two rounds at Oulton Park and Croft, and currently lie fourth in the points.

MJ Tec’s Scott Jeffs and Will Abraham have been setting the pace so far. They finished second and fifth at Anglesey last season, but having won at Oulton and in the Croft sprint race, second place in the Croft Enduro has given them a 10 point lead in the Championship.

Currently heading the chase in second place are defending Champions Team Olympian- GRD’s Chris Dovell, Riley Phillips and Simon Rudd. They had a second at Anglesey last year too, and have been on the podium in two of this years races so far, with a best of second at Oulton.

anglesey 3Only three points cover Olympian, Morpheus and UVio/Hofmann’s in the fight for second. Ted Bradbury and Neil Burroughs share for Morpheus this weekend, after a successful Croft outing netted second in the sprint and a win in the enduro.

Vapeclub with EDF’s Vlad Vassiliev/Simon Coles are a new partnership this season, but have shown the pace to run with the leaders. Their sixth place at Oulton keeps them seventh in the points.

Last years Championship runners up PLR had their best result so far in the Croft Enduro, when Neil Plimmer/Ben Pitch came home sixth. They are currently fourth in the Masters Championship and looking to improve on their fourth place at Anglesey last season.

Uvio AngleseyAaron Cooke was one of the stars of last years Anglesey weekend, and he’s back for more. He was fifth for GT Radial in the first of last years races, and is sharing the 99 JPR Team ARC car with Rob Croydon, who moves from the GMR/Eco car that he has been sharing with Gracie Mitchell.

Harry Mailer rejoins John Whitehouse and Steve Ruston again in the Signature RV car, deputising for Marcus Clutton. Their car has proven pace, having won last seasons finale at Oulton Park.

Pace hasn’t ben a problem for Axia Metrics, but luck often seems in short supply for Chris Weatherill, Greg Evans and biker Jonathan Railton. They had a third at Anglesey in 2023, but have yet to record a top six finish this season.


Team Ratters’ consistency has them eighth in the championship, despite seeking their first top six of the season. But Peter Ratcliff and sons David and John are sure to be planning to rectify that fact.

The second EDF car has Transatlantic commuter Victor Kara and David Farrow sharing, while at Wave 9 Mark Burton has both Jason Minshaw and Graham Pattle with him. While at Team 3 it’s just David Postins and John Perrott this weekend.

Matt Hogg and Mike Devlin will be seeking to continue their ongoing improvement at Seed Data, while former TCR racers Jac Constable and Russell Joyce could be the dark horses this weekend for Skull Club Racing.

There’s a welcome back to Martin Gibson and Kristian Rose in the JPR GiTI car, while Andrew Isherwood and Adam Fawsitt join in the Fun with the JPR Fun Cup Tifosi car.

Finally Gary Summers has two CNC Heads Sports Saloon regulars joining him, with both Julian Wood and Steven Parker making their Fun Cup debuts.

There is one more car due out too, with the driver line up yet to be finalised.

Qualifying is on Saturday morning at 9am for 45 minutes, with race one at 12.20 and race two 6.55pm, each for three hours.

Published by Peter Scherer for Fun Cup Endurance, June 12th 2024

Kristian Rose

Kristian Rose