Portugal 1 scaled 1

After a season of battling for supremacy it all comes down to Oulton Park on Saturday, where three teams go head-to-head for the 2017 Fun Cup title, amongst a huge 30 car grid. 


Leading the way at the moment are defending Champions JPR UVio, with Farquini Deott and Graham Roberts. But only four points adrift after a double win at Anglesey last time out, Track Torque 2rent Dominos’ Chris Hart and Henry Dawes are hoping to go one better than last year.


“I think it’s safe to say that the pizza’s will be free on Saturday night, as they will be delivering late,” said a confident Deott.


The third crew still in with a chance of the crown are Team Trooper Iron Maiden, with ace tactician Antonio Armelin juggling his squad of Paul Wighton, Jake Rattenbury, Harry Mailer and of course Anthony Reid.


Last seasons finale winner Team Sherardize is back after only occasional appearances during the season. Peter Belshaw will partner Phill Keen, as Marcus Clutton is committed to sharing Andy Bicknell’s DespatchBay.com car, edging close to that elusive first win.


MAK Racing are currently fourth in the points but will be without Stuart Hall for the finale, as Dan Brown steps in again with Chris Webster and Michelle Hayward.


There is also a change in the Lane Roofing Evolution line-up, as they continue look to consolidate their place in the top five. Geoff Fawcett steps down, leaving Chris Weatherill to partner Rob Croydon.


JPR on the Piste welcome back Steve Harris, to share with Mark Burton and Dominic Jackson too, they currently hold sixth in the championship.


CCS Media didn’t have a lot of luck at Anglesey’s double-header but are back with their usual full line-up of Nigel Greensall, Ciro Carannante. Alan Honarmand and Bob Tomlinson.


Luck did finally turn for Team Honeywell’s Neil Plimmer and Tim Wheeldon though, who won Team of the Day at Anglesey’s night race.


Among the returnees are ECO 209 who missed Anglesey. Paul Abraham shares with Paul Turner, but they also welcome back Tom Mills for the first time this year, replacing Guy Wenham.


Trumans are back too with their usual trio of Colin Kingsnorth, Julian Bricknell and Richard Webb, while Track Focused are back up to two cars, with Sean Cooper, Mike McCollum and Neil Smith returning, to join second team car Clint Bardwell and Dean Warriner.


Former Champions Racelogic are still looking for a podium this season, but with reliability and a bit of luck Julian Thomas, Jon Tomlinson and David Denyer should be near the top.


Among the big improvers this year have been Team Viking, with Mark Holme, Nick Nunn and Jim Hadfield moving up the leaderboard, as are Team Lane Roofing, who have cars for Kurt/Gary Lane and Jordan Lane/Dan Gullick this weekend.


Team 7 have three cars out, with  Chris Dovell sharing the first Academy car with Chris and Edward Bridle, while Anthony Dunn leads the second alongside Rod Barrett and Danny Henrey. On their seasonal debuts Alan and Rory Brown have Jay Shepherd on-board in the third team car.


Team Brit have two cars entered with Warren McKinley, Jamie Falvey and Jimmy Hill in the first and Andy Searle, Ash Hall and James Russell in the second.


Agua Caliente have yet to announce who is sharing with Rob Perry.


The Jones families MCAC Racing car is out for the first time this year, with Matthew, Philip and Gareth sharing, while Martin Gibson/Ellis Hadley will be hoping to continue their recent form in the JPR GT Radial car.


Grahame Butterworth made his return at Snetterton and will be out again with son Craig and Ian Wood.


Steve Walton/Greg Evans complete their debut season again with Track Torque FNS.


Finally, Kristian Rose will join David Lloyd in JPR 103, whilst Joe Watt will join his father Adrian in the Crossacre car.


Who will be victorious?


Published by Peter Scherer for Fun Cup, October 11th 2017